Tale of Two XC Seasons: Road to the State Meet!

Hey all,

So yesterday my cross country team competed at the CIF prelims for cross country at Mount San Antonio College in Walnut, California. Unlike last year, where we were cut short at prelims, everyone ran amazing times on the tough course, advancing the Fountain Valley Boys team to CIF finals! For the first time in my school’s history, the cross country team has a major shot at getting to the state meet! I was recovering from an injury during the week of the race, but still was able to cheer on my teammates to awesome performances 🙂 My knee has been feeling much better lately so if I run solid workouts this week, I may be able to race at the CIF finals!

Around the same time that my team began tapering our training for this race, I started reading “Tale of Two Cities”. Now that my team has done really well at prelims, that title has got me thinking. Last year, after having done very well at league finals and at the county championships, we thought the varsity team would have a very good shot at making it to CIF finals. Everything had gone according to plan. We had high hopes and the fitness to ensure we reached our goals. However last year, the varsity team (which I was not on yet) fell far short of what it was capable of doing. If anything could’ve gone wrong, it did so, to a great extent. After the day was over, the team’s morale was crushed and their season was over. So to have our team not only make it to finals this year, but also have a huge shot of contending for the state meet (with me on it 🙂 ) seems like almost a dream come true for us. A complete reversal of last year. Despite some of our runners having a few bad races in the season, including myself, we pulled it together and kept putting one foot in front of another. And if all goes as planned, I’ll be bringing you an update of the state meet in a few weeks 😀

~Noah

Here’s a video of the race taken by Steven Santiago:

Leave a Reply

